top of page

Maskne Kit, feat. Avène


Maskne, the acne we are experiencing from wearing protective face coverings, is effecting all of us just as much as the pandemic is. We deserve to spoil our skin with some extra love and care while we are protecting ourselves and others by wearing a mask!


Our skin is so susceptible to bacteria and when it gets trapped in the pores, acne shows up. So when we wear our protective face masks, the bacteria, sweat, oil, dead skin, sunscreen, makeup and excess sebum build up and get stuck. This bacteria builds creating these lovely whiteheads, cysts and blackheads we see. So while we are dealing with lockdowns, missing our loved ones, feeling cabin fever at home, and having extra stress, we have acne. Let’s take control of these blemishes and get our skin behaving again!


Avène was so kind as to send me a “kit” of products targeted towards our mask acne. They curated this routine to be as effective yet gentle as possible for all skin types and ages, even the most sensitive. The kit consists of:

  1. Cleanance Cleansing gel: made for oily, blemish prone skin, soothing, made for sensitive skin, keeps the integrity of the skin while on harsh acne medications and topicals.

  2. Thermal Spring Water: rich in minerals, soothes the skin and softens intensely. Prepares the skin for serums and treatments.

  3. Cleanance Comedomed Anti-Blemish Concentrate: a silky serum made to target blemishes of all kinds right at the root cause in the skin and diminishes reoccurrence of the spots. Perfect for acne prone skin of all ages.

  4. Cicalfate + Restorative Protective Cream: a thick, protective cream that ensures the skin barrier stays in tact during acne treatment. Contains zinc and copper for antibacterial and restoring properties.

In the kit, Avène also included a 100% silk reusable mask! Silk masks are known to be much less irritating and "trapping" to the skin. Plus, isn't it just gorgeous! I could absolutely feel my skin less irritated and red after wearing this mask for a couple days instead of my regular cloth mask. This is because of the decreased friction that silk provides!! I highly consider switching to silk and reusable when possible.


This system is truly meant to keep skin healthy, soothed, calm, mattified and free from blemishes. I love how my more dry, sensitive skin accepts product from Avène as if they were made for me.


This beautiful French Pharmacy brand is available at most drugstores with a derm skincare section (Shoppers Drug Mart, Rexall, London Drugs, etc.). I will be posting a full review on these product once I've used them much longer as well! I find them more of a luxury drugstore brand, but I believe they are truly affordable when skin is priority for you and worth the extra splurge. I cannot go a day without the Thermal Spring Water now! It may just be fancy water in a can, but the soothing properties are real, I see such a difference in my redness when I spray this on my face before my serums!


I can't wait for you to try out these products to have calm, clear, glowing skin!


Much love,

Erin xo

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page