top of page

Which Osea Malibu Cleanser is for you?


Osea Malibu is easily my favourite skincare brand. Not only are they woman founded, family run, clean, cruelty free, made in the USA and vegan... they WORK.


Osea is most know for their classic Ocean Cleanser. It is a beautiful light green gel in a stunning, tall, frosted glass bottle with a simple white pump. I remember scrolling through Instagram one day back in early 2020 and seeing this stunning product grace my feed over and over by some of my favourite clean beauty accounts. I knew I just had to have it! As an instagram beauty content creator, I was so kindly gifted a few of Osea's products directly from them after I reached out in interest. I think my heart stopped for a couple beats when the package finally arrived and it was time to first test out this glamorous cleanser! From that day on, I've truly been hooked.


At this point, I have tried about 90% of their range, mostly from being gifted products, but also from purchasing them on my own. What really stands out from this brands range is their cleansers. Currently, Osea has three facial cleansers and one "V Cleanse" meant for the delicate vulva. Today let's talk about the facial cleansers and which one may be best for you!



OCEAN CLEANSER


The classic, the one, the mighty. Ocean cleanser is a light green gel formula that smells so delicately of lime. It contains the main ingredients of algae (a staple in this brands line), jojoba oil, sesame oil, vitamin E and lactic acid. Simply put, this is an everyday cleanser that will purify your skin from oil, dead skin, dirt and other build up by gently (very gently) exfoliating, and softening the skin. The lactic acid gets to work on the surface layer of dead skin and build up and the beautiful algae softens the skin and balances you out.


This one can definitely tingle at first, so it's not for my ultra sensitive friends, but for those with normal, combination, acne prone, mature and oily skin. If you feel a tingle at first, it's okay, it will go away the more you use it. It's just your skin getting used to the lactic acid and essential oils. But I promise, you will glow from clean, brightened skin! Plus, who doesn't love a spa like sensorial experience during their skincare routine? The lime oil is heavenly.



OCEAN CLEANSING MILK


My personal favourite. After falling in love with the ocean cleanser, I knew I needed to try the ocean cleansing milk. I have been a huge fan of cleansing milks for years as my skin tends to be quite sensitive and dry. Out of all the ones I've tried, this is the ONE for me. Like the name suggests, it's a milk formula, so don't expect any foaming, oily or stripping effects. It is supposed to be nourishing, moisturizing and soothing. Extremely gentle is an understatement with this one. This cleanser has safflower oil, water lily extract, gigartina seaweed, rose, chamomile and amino acids! Literally just a bunch of beautiful ingredients to soften, protect, nourish and soothe the skin. It's also fragrance free, so the spa like effect comes from how soft your skin is after rinsing away.


I like this one for anyone except super oily skin types. This one is best for sensitive skin since it is fragrance free and has no actives or foaming agents. It will replenish the skin instead of taking away (giving moisture instead of washing away all the oil). This is lovely in the morning too when I am not working to wash off the day of sunscreen, pollution or makeup. It simply gets my skin clean and ready for the day.



OCEAN CLEANSING MUDD


This one is the fun one. If you are a fan of the tingle that ocean cleanser gives, then this one will be that but turned all the way up! Ocean mudd is the last one I have tried from Osea and I tried it because I was having some bad cystic/hormonal and mask acne. This one is packed full of tea tree, peppermint and clay to banish excess oil and acne causing bacteria along with beautiful seaweed to not overwork the skin or strip it entirely. It's the same consistency as Ocean cleanser. This one is fun because of the fresh scent, the tingle as it works and the fun mud colour. Acne prone faces will love this one for clearing up breakouts and oily skin will love it as it soaks up all that oil.


Personally, my skin is too sensitive to use this one regularly, like my others, but its amazing for when that breakout does come along or during the week before my period when I know my hormones are kicking pimples onto my chin! I even find it's amazing as a mask treatment. Simply leave it on linger than you would during your cleanse and then rinse away! That spa like treatment really rings true when you leave this on the skin like a treatment.




Every cleanser from Osea is PH balanced. This means that your skin won't react in irritation from too alkaline or acidic of a formula. They are ethically sourced, made with love, packaged beautifully and look damn good on your bathroom counter. What's also fun, is to mix them! I love mixing ocean cleanser and ocean milk when my skin needs that good clean but it's feeling a little dry or sensitive. They work beautifully together and you get all the benefits in one spot! I mentioned masking with ocean mudd, but masking with milk can definitely help with moisturizing the skin too. If you're REALLY into skincare and washing your face, there's nothing wrong with having all three, like me, and using them for your skin needs. Let's say you do ocean cleanser at night, milk in the morning and mudd when those pesky pimples pop up. A whole collection does sound exciting!


Osea is definitely the skincare you want to leave out in the bathroom to show off when guests are over! From my extensive experience with the brand on my Instagram, I have truly noticed that it's a crowd favourite. The formulas do their job, make the skin glow, and keep it soft. I haven't heard of a single skin type that hasn't benefitted from at least one of the products! The stunning packaging always sparks conversation and is the perfect addition to any shelfie. I'll be making a post soon about my top favourites from this brand because, well, I cannot stop talking about them!


Which cleanser do you think is the one for you?


Much love,

Erin xo

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page